A year ago (2015) in Sdiscomfort*, the real battle was expected to be between the Americans and the Europeans (also known as three Icelanders and a Finn). But Team Europe had a shocking last-place finish and never really gained any traction in the two-hour event.

This year, the three Iceland athletes (Katrin Davidsdottir, Sara Sigmundsdottir, and Bjorgvin Karl Gudmundsson) returned, but Jonne Koski was replaced by Lukas Hogberg. With the most returning competitors from this past season’s disappointing finish and the only team donning the new RockTape Assassins knee sleeves, Team Europe surprised the world with with their last-minute win.

Was it coach Sam Briggs, or RockTape’s new Assassins? You be the judge.